Modelling Complex Biological Systems in the Context of Genomics
Thematic Research School
    March 21st to 25th 2016, Évry  


  But technology will ultimately and usefully be better served by
following the spirit of Eddington, by attempting to provide enough
time and intellectual space for those who want to invest
themselves in exploration of levels beyond the genome
independently of any quick promises for still quicker solutions
to extremely complex problems.

Strohman RC (1977) Nature Biotech 15:199

    Systems Biology includes the study of interaction networks and, in particular, their dynamic and spatiotemporal aspects. It typically requires the import of concepts from across the disciplines and crosstalk between theory, benchwork, modelling and simulation. The quintessence of Systems Biology is the discovery of the design principles of Life. The logical next step is to apply these principles to synthesize biological systems. This engineering of biology is the ultimate goal of Synthetic Biology: the rational conception and construction of complex systems based on, or inspired by, biology, and endowed with functions that may be absent in Nature.

Open to a wide range of students, postdoctoral fellows and seasoned researchers, this cross-disciplinary Thematic Research School on the Advances in Systems and Synthetic Biology covers five main topics this year:



Five full days with an attendance of about 80 researchers, half of them biologists.




The Thematic School organises an international workshop for Students and post-doc, with selected oral presentations. More information on the Student Workshop webpage.


This annual School started in 2002. It was the first School dedicated to Systems Biology in France, and perhaps in Europe. Since 2005, Synthetic Biology has played an increasingly important role in the School. Generally, the topics covered by the School have changed from year to year to accompany and sometimes precede a rapidly evolving scientific landscape. Its title has evolved in 2004 and again in 2012 to reflect these changes. The first School was held near Grenoble after which the School has been held in various locations. It started under the auspices of Genopole®, and has been supported by the CNRS since 2003, as well as by several other sponsors over the years.


Strasbourg (2015) Proceedings (PDF, 12Mb)
Évry (2014) Proceedings (PDF, 4.3Mb)
Nice (2013) Proceedings (PDF, 9.3Mb)
Évry (2012) Proceedings (PDF, 7.7Mb)
Sophia Antipolis (2011)   Proceedings (PDF, 8.2Mb)
Évry (2010) Proceedings (PDF, 3.3Mb)
Nice (2009) Proceedings (PDF, 8.5Mb)
Lille (2008) Proceedings (PDF, 2.4Mb)
Évry (2007) Proceedings (PDF, 2Mb)
Bordeaux (2006) Proceedings (PDF, 5.5Mb)
Montpellier (2005) Proceedings (PDF, 19Mb)
Évry (2004) Proceedings (PDF, 5.1Mb)
Dieppe (2003) Proceedings (PDF, 10Mb)
Autrans (2002) Proceedings (PDF, 22Mb)



list (text file to import into Excel, reserved access)
list (reserved access) This website is maintained by Patrick Amar (patrick DOT amar AT sys2diag DOT cnrs DOT fr)
822  hits since September 9th, 2015

aVANCÉES EN BIOLOGIE DES SYSTÈMES ET DE SYNTHÈSE
Modélisation de systèmes biologiques complexes dans le contexte de la génomique
École Thématique de Recherche
    Du 13 au 17 mars 2017, Lyon  
INRIA INSA-Lyon

  Ce projet est soutenu par la Région Auvergne Rhône-Alpes

PRÉSENTATION

  But technology will ultimately and usefully be better served by
following the spirit of Eddington, by attempting to provide enough
time and intellectual space for those who want to invest
themselves in exploration of levels beyond the genome
independently of any quick promises for still quicker solutions
to extremely complex problems.

Strohman RC (1977) Nature Biotech 15:199

    La Biologie Systémique tente de comprendre les comportements de réseaux biologiques d'interaction, en particulier leurs aspects dynamiques et leurs développements spatiaux. Elle recourt typiquement à l'import transdisciplinaire des concepts, et au couplage entre théorie et expérimentation. La quintessence de la Biologie Systémique offre accès à la logique du vivant (Life's design principles). Il est naturel d'ensuite appliquer ces principes pour synthétiser des systèmes biologiques. C'est l'objectif de la Biologie de Synthèse, l'ingéniérie de la biologie : la conception rationnelle et la construction de systèmes complexes basés sur, ou inspirés par le vivant, mais dotés de fonctions absentes dans la nature.

Grande ouverte aux étudiants, postdoctorants, et chercheurs chevronnés, cette École Thématique de Recherche transdisciplinaire sur les Avancées en Biologie des Systèmes et de Synthèse couvre cette année un thème majeur et un thème mineur :

OBJECTIFS

STRUCTURE

Cinq jours pleins avec la participation d'environ 80 chercheurs, dont moitié de biologistes.

Matin :

Après-midi :

Soir :

L'École Thématique organise un atelier international réservé aux étudiants et post-doctrorants avec des présentations orales sélectionnées. Plus d'informations sur la page : Atelier Étudiant.

NOTICE HISTORIQUE

Cette École annuelle a débuté en 2002. C'était alors la première École dédiée à la Biologie des Systèmes en France, et peut-être en Europe. Depuis 2005, elle a incorporé une proportion croissante de Biologie de Synthèse. Généralement, les thèmes couverts par cette École ont changé d'année en année pour accompagner et parfois précéder son paysage scientifique rapidement mouvant. Son titre a évolué en 2004 et à nouveau en 2012 pour refléter ces changements. Alors que sa première édition a eu lieu près de Grenoble, l'École s'est depuis invitée dans une variété de lieux. Elle a démarré sous les auspices de Genopole®, et a été soutenue aussi par le CNRS depuis 2003, et par plusieurs mécènes supplémentaires au cours des années.

PRÉCÉDENTES ÉDITIONS

Évry (2016) Proceedings (PDF, 4.2Mo)
Strasbourg (2015) Actes (PDF, 12Mo)
Évry (2014) Actes (PDF, 4.3Mo)
Nice (2013) Actes (PDF, 9.3Mo)
Évry (2012) Actes (PDF, 7.7Mo)
Sophia Antipolis (2011)   Actes (PDF, 8.2Mo)
Évry (2010) Actes (PDF, 3.3Mo)
Nice (2009) Actes (PDF, 8.5Mo)
Lille (2008) Actes (PDF, 2.4Mo)
Évry (2007) Actes (PDF, 2Mo)
Bordeaux (2006) Actes (PDF, 5.5Mo)
Montpellier (2005) Actes (PDF, 19Mo)
Évry (2004) Actes (PDF, 5.1Mo)
Dieppe (2003) Actes (PDF, 10Mo)
Autrans (2002) Actes (PDF, 22Mo)

Ce site est maintenu par Patrick Amar (patrick DOT amar AT sys2diag DOT cnrs DOT fr)
562  accès depuis le 17 septembre 2016.